Open Search

CMU Blazer Athletics

Blazers Work Hard for Respect Versus Wesmen

Kenny Sacramento and Scott Ansell’s first half goals were more than enough to pace the Winnipeg Wesmen to a 5-0 win over CMU on Wednesday night at the Winnipeg Soccer Complex.

Despite having a squad of only 13 available players, the 11-men that took the pitch for CMU showed discipline and determination as they defended their goal. Powered by a strong south wind, the 2012 CIS-bound Wesmen, jumped out to an early lead on 6 minutes. A poorly played free-kick was easily intercepted by the Wesmen, sending Sacramento in alone on goal to make it 1-0.

Minutes later, Jonah Langlotz found himself bearing down on the Wesmen goal with a chance to draw this team level, but was unable to find an equalizing finish. Winnipeg would capture a second goal in the 24th minute when Scott Ansell scored from a cross just out of the reach of a diving Blayne Stobbe.

From there on the Blazers held fort. “We managed to keep our shape well, be patient and close down their chances and even break when and if we had an opportunity,” commented CMU head coach Russell Willms. “With teams like the Wesmen we can’t afford to gift them any goals and should we have been a little more careful with the ball, we would have found ourselves in the game in the second-half.”

Sacramento would capture his brace 12 minutes after the restart on a broken play that he blasted by Stobbe. The Wesmen would score two additional goals to close out the match, by Amos Ganyea and Rich Rundle in the 63rd and 74th minute respectively.

Despite having very few spurts of possession, the Blazers managed to create a handful of chances. First-year striker Desmond O’Dell looked poised for the scoresheet, while Simon Dueck, Langelotz and Andrew Janzen worked box-to-box to get themselves into scoring areas when chances presented themselves.


1. Blayne Stobbe, 3. Simon Dueck, 4. Jordon Zimmerly, 6. Aaron Saint-Cyr, 7. Desmond O’Dell, 8. Jonah Langelotz, 13. Jon Willie, 16. Andrew Janzen, 17. Matt Mayers, 18. Adam Janzen (5. Rodger Toews 55), 19. Michael Breton (2. Scott Feick 65).





Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association