Open Search

CMU Blazer Athletics

Blazers Honour 2013 Athletic Achievements

Members of the CMU varsity soccer, basketball and volleyball teams gathered earlier this week to recognize the outstanding achievements of the 2012-13 MCAC seasons.


One of CMU proudest accomplishments this year was the success of their varsity athletes in the classroom. The MCAC recognizes student-athletes who achieve a grade-point average of 3.0 (80%) or higher with academic awards for scholar-athletes. This year 47 members of CMU varsity teams received recognition for their classroom success (61% of all team members). The above photos shows fifteen of the sixteen student-athletes who were recognized for academic achievements of 4.0 or higher (back row from left: Kieran Enns, Sean Baergen, Matthew Gain, Rodger Toews, Signe Penner-Goeke, Rianna Isaak, (Russell Willms); middle row: Kathleen Klippenstein, Simon Dueck, Deanna Zantingh, Breanna Heinrichs, Nick Czehryn, (Cheryl Pauls); front row: Mitchell Siemens, Danielle Klassen, Laura Tait, Adam Janzen (not pictured: Markus Goertzen).

CMU takes pride in its encouragement of academic excellence alongside athletic play, obtaining above average numbers in all categories of scholar athlete performance across the MCAC and Canada.  An astounding 21% of Blazer varsity athletes achieved a grade point average of 4.0 or greater.  This achievement comes into even greater perspective this year as three teams from MCAC member schools had to withdraw teams for academic ineligibility reasons.

In addition to its academic merit awards, top honours for male and female athletes of the year, male and female rookies of the year, and the Trailblazer award were also presented:

083Maraleigh Short took home Female Athlete of the Year honours as a member of the CMU Blazer’s women’s soccer squad, five years after receiving the Female Most Outstanding Rookie Award as a member of the CMU Blazers women’s volleyball team.  This award adds to her MCAC All-Conference team honours, awarded at the conclusion of the soccer season.

Third year men’s volleyball player Sean Franz received the Male Athlete of the Year honours.  The 6’3” captain received his recognition for his dominant left-side attacking and leadership on the court, which was also recognized by the MCAC, as he was selected to the All-Conference Team at the 2013 championships.

076The Trailblazer Award, given to a student-athlete who showed excellence in team leadership and community service was awarded to Deanna Zantingh of the women’s soccer team. The Smithville Ontario native will be graduating from CMU this spring with a four-year BA in Peace and Conflict Transformation Studies, and has used her education to spearhead many on-campus and community initiatives.

Female Rookie of the Year honours went to Kathleen Klippenstein of the women’s basketball team.  The 6’1” centre from Niverville used her size and strength to dominate the paint, and gain recognition on the MCAC All-Conference team in addition to her CMU honours.

Kieran Enns of men’s volleyball received Male Rookie of the Year honours.  A 2013 MCAC All-Conference Team member, Kieran was a commanding middle presence this year, using his entire 6’7” frame to make attacks from both front and back row, and to set up an intimidating block at the net.

The following athletes were honoured by their coaches with varsity team awards:

Women’s Soccer

Rookies of the Year – Heidi Epp, Breanna Heinrichs

Outstanding Graduate – Rianna Isaak

Player of the Year – Maraleigh Short

Men’s Soccer

Rookies of the Year – Cole Johnson, Andrew Letkeman

Outstanding Graduate – Sean Dyck

Player of the Year – Jonah Langelotz

Women’s Volleyball

Rookie of the Year – Leah Dyck

Outstanding Graduate – Breanne Giesbrecht

Player of the Year – Maxine Delaney

Men’s Volleyball

Rookie of the Year – Kieran Enns

Outstanding Graduate – Markus Goertzen

Player of the Year – Sean Franz

Women’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Kathleen Klippenstein

Outstanding Graduate – Tanya Fehr

Player of the Year – Darcie Donald

Men’s Basketball

Rookie of the Year – Stephen Jones

Player of the Year – Matt Koenig

Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association