Open Search

CMU Blazer Athletics

Focused: 2020/21 Student-Athletes Make A Scholarly Statement

With their 2020-21 competitive seasons cancelled, the CMU Blazers showcased their talents in the physical and virtual classrooms durign the coronavirus pandemic, surpassing all previous year's academic successes. The varsity teams combined to showcase an eye-catching number of scholar-athletes with 74.4% acheiving an academic score of 3.0 or higher. For returning and graduating student-athletes, these scores were based on the combined semesters of Winter 2020 and Fall 2020, while for rookie athletes, academic performances were recorded from Fall 2020.

"Our athletes have faced many obstacles this year and I am really proud of the way they have overcome these challenges and poured their focus into their studies," said CMU's Director of Athletics, Russell Willms. "Our programs aim to coach athletes to thrive when they face challenges, to develop strategies, to be able to adjust quickly as situations change and to perform under pressure. These academic results speak for themselves. The successes that our athletes have found this year will help to set new and higher standards for academic performance and establish team cultures of academic engagement and excellence."

Of the sixty-eight full-time student-athletes to score at or above a grade-point average of 3.0, twenty-eight athletes recorded elite academic scores of 3.7 or higher. Those athletes names are highlighted in bold.

CMU Athletics would like to congratulate our student-athletes on their academic successes and wish you all continued success in your forthcoming winter semester exams.


Melissa Gilbert

Tia Bruinsma

Tai Linklater

Christina Duerksen

Julia Ignagni

Hannah Neufeldt

Tiffany Gilbert

Tiegan Kroeker

Lindsay Knodel

Dara Neufeld

Rachel Neufeld

Mariel Roehr

Mamie Kroeker-Tom

Ezri Trump



Arnav Ahuja

Sherwin Thiessen

Aaron Doerksen

Stanislav Pankiewicz

Jonathan Monsevula

Daniel McIntyre-Ridd

Yeri Concepcion

Waldy Preis

Tim Shantz

Matheus Moreno



Chloe Boulet

Briana Ehrmantraut

Emily Townsend

Nifemi Gbadamosi

Lauren Derco-Todd

Morag de Koning

Jessica Marx-Houndle

Megan Mulder

Reyna Reyes

Julia Schatkowsky

Kennedy Martens

Madison Zadro



Daniel Oranu

Matt Brenton

Kieran Baydock

Pacifique Jubilate

Andrew Hutton

Binh Nguyen

Graham Rasmussen

Javan Pries

Elliot Russenholt

Zach Van Walleghem



Vanessa Friesen

Jessica Edel

Renée Desroches

Leia Jaworski

Lydawn Mcgarry

Lauren Ens

Chloe Friesen

Annika Kornelsen

Mackenzy Groot

Alyssa Patterson

Delaney Gerwing

Annika Loeppky

Brooklyn Thiessen



Jack Tyrrell

Brock Carmichael

Matthew Pagé

Levi Klassen

Cameron Chan

Cam Gayleard

Carter Hofer

Nathan Penner










Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference Northern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association